Join PSI @ AIDS2020: Virtual

COVID-19 has sounded a wake-up call for the global HIV response: we must bring HIV prevention and treatment services out of the clinic and closer to those who need it.  In many settings, critical HIV services such as testing, anti-retroviral therapy and PrEP are only available in public sector facilities, and many people who need them cannot access them. Self-care approaches can overcome these barriers and offer vital approaches during the current pandemic and in the future—resulting in better, more accessible, participatory and quality healthcare. 

Join PSI at AIDS2020: Virtual for nearly 20 presentations, posters, symposia and other events to learn how we can put more HIV testing, treatment and prevention directly in people’s hands with the support they need to use it safely and effectively. Below, you’ll find a full schedule of PSI’s activities at the conference. And don’t forget to check back regularly, as materials will be uploaded throughout the conference.

Events

Monday, July 6

Bringing PrEP closer to home

Why Diversifying Service Delivery Models Matters

ORGANIZERS: AVAC, PATH, International AIDS Society (IAS)
TIME: 6-7am PST | 9-10am EDT | 2-3pm GMT | 3-4pm SAST  
EVENT TYPE: Satellite Session (60 min. LIVE format)
PSI Presence: Fethia Keder (PSI Ethiopia)

The Power of Self-Testing

A Spotlight on Pandemic Response

ORGANIZERS: OraSure Technologies and PSI
TIME: 10-11am PST | 1-2pm EDT | 6-7pm GMT | 7-8pm SAST
EVENT TYPE: Satellite Session (60 min. LIVE format)
PSI Presence: Karl Hofmann (PSI Global)

Tuesday, July 7

Towards Sustainability and Scalability of HIV Self-Testing

Solutions for Low- and Middle-Income Countries

ORGANIZERS: Unitaid, STAR Initiative and ATLAS
TIME: 10-11am PST | 1-2pm EDT | 6-7pm GMT | 7-8pm SAST
EVENT TYPE: Satellite symposium (60-minute LIVE format)

wednesday, July 8

Private Sector Delivery of self-testing

Emerging Trends

ORGANIZERS: Children’s Investment Fund Foundation (CIFF) and USAID
TIME: 11am-12pm PST | 2-3pm EDT | 6-7pm GMT | 8-9pm SAST
EVENT TYPE: Satellite symposium (60-minute LIVE format)
PSI Presence: Dr. Hildah Essendi (PS Kenya), Dr. Karin Hatzold (PSI Global) and Dr. Catherine Kidiga (PSI)

Thursday, July 9

HIV, Self-Care and COVID-19

Lessons for the Future of the HIV Response

ORGANIZERS: Self-Care Trailblazer Group, Children’s Investment Fund Foundation (CIFF), PSI, International Planned Parenthood Federation, PATH, FHI 360, Jhpiego, Aidsfonds
TIME: 6-7am PST | 9-10am EDT | 2-3pm GMT | 3-4pm SAST 
EVENT TYPE: Satellite Symposium (45 min. LIVE format)

hot Talks

Be sure to check out our daily HOT TALKS! at the HIV Self-Testing Africa (STAR) Initiative Exhibition Booth featuring key experts and advocates speaking on new technologies and approaches to bring HIV care closer to the people who need it most.

oral abstracts

posters

Factors associated with newly diagnosed HIV infection among female sex workers (FSW)
Ozian Zekiros, PSI Ethiopia

Community-based index case testing (ICT) among female sex workers and their sexual partners in Ethiopia: effective strategies for overcoming barriers
Israel Lemma, PSI Ethiopia

Peer Power: Harnessing peer mobilisers to improve uptake of PrEP among adolescent girls
Kumbirai Chatora, PSI Zimbabwe

Relationships types, age disparate and sexual network trees among key populations in Zimbabwe
Noah Taruberekera, PSI Zimbabwe

Rebound viremia in key populations on ART in Zimbabwe: the case for further investigation
Stephano Gudukeya, PSI Zimbabwe

Implementation of a collaborative, multi-stakeholder program to standardize and scale HIV services for key populations in public sector health facilities in Zimbabwe
Carey Johnson, PSI Zimbabwe

Preparing for Scale-Up: the changing cost and cost-effectiveness of HIV self-testing integration into community-based mobile outreach and index HIV testing models in Lesotho
Marc d’Elbée, STAR Initiative

Reaching Partners Through Secondary Distribution of HIV Self-Testing in Malawi: A cost analysis of a pragmatic cluster-randomized trial
Linda A. Sande, STAR Initiative

HIV Risk Perception, Willingness and Interest on PrEP Among MSM/TGW in Yangon, Myanmar
Ye Kyaw Aung, PSI Myanmar

Estimation of HIV Incidence Among MSM Using Anonymous Biometrics Unique Identifier
Si Thu Thein, PSI Myanmar

“WhatsApp Me Some Support:” HIV support groups using digital social media tools
Jorge Rivas and Brenda Palma, PASMO

The Varying Cost of Facility-Based HIV Self-Test Distribution Across Urban and Rural Districts in South Africa
K. Matsimela, STAR Initiative

Acceptability of a Peer-to-Peer Delivery of HIV Self-Testing and Sexual health Information to Support HIV Prevention among Young Women in Rural KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
O.A. Adeagbo, STAR Initiative

Prioritizing HIV Self-Testing Adoption and Scale-Up to Support Continuity of HIV Testing Services in the Context of COVID-19 in South Africa
Karin Hatzold, STAR Initiative

Secondary Distribution of HIVST Kits in Different Clinical Settings: A Cohort Study in Zambia
C. Mulubwa, STAR Initiative

More posters will be posted soon.